Heart beating fast.

Sweaty palms

Tight chest.

Ocean sunset with great cloudscape

We’ve all been through a form of anxiety in our lives at one point or another, but how do we beat down anxiety?

About a year and a half ago I went through a divorce, and anxiety and I became unwanted roommates. Dealing with chaotic thoughts, short breathing, and a raging amount of emotions was an every day thing.

How do you cope with anxiety?

  1. Find a place in nature

People talk about exercise, deep breathing, and all kinds of methods, but what worked for me was getting in nature. And, yes, I did this in winter. Bundle up if you need to and get outside for at least 20-30 minutes a day. There is something about fresh air that relieves anxiety.

2. Be in the NOW

I heard the angels tell me, “Look up the book about the NOW.” I had no idea about THE POWER OF NOW, and this book changed me.

Pull all of your attention to the NOW. Not the past, not the future, but what is going on right NOW.

3. Acknowledge your own emotions.

As a sensitive person, I used to dismiss my own emotions. When we dismiss them we build up a higher charge, that can turn into anxiety or depression. In order to cope with anxiety, tell yourself, “I hear you. I love you in whatever emotion you feel.” This will help dissolve the emotions that aren’t feeling good.

How do I deal with stress?

Stress and anxiety are brothers. So, how do we deal with it?

  • Tell yourself to slow down.
  • Do one thing at a time–quit the multi-tasking
  • Take deep breaths
  • Find a quiet place and focus on the NOW
  • Ask for help
  • Tell yourself, “I love you even when you feel bad.”

For more helpful tips on anxiety, depression, and spirituality follow my blog, youtube channel, instagram, or facebook. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

