facts smaller

How do you avoid depression?

Why is there such a raging amount of people suffering from this mental illness? Is there a natural way to avoid it all together?

Yes, I believe there is.

If you’re like me, and you look at those statistics above, it breaks your heart.  My natural instinct is to want to help those who are in pain and loneliness. But, therein lies the flaw.

Love yourself

We don’t take care of ourselves first. 

I’m not saying don’t reach out to those who are need, but many times, those who are suffering from a mental illness got to that place, because they ignored emotions that were trying to get their attention. When repressed anger, continuing sadness, frustration, fear, and feeling held back swirl around on the inside of you, a deeper root manifests–depression. Depression is a state of giving up when the emotions one feels can’t be expressed or sorted through.

So, how do we avoid this all together? Let’s dig in a little further.

Depression and Divorce

My story of depression began with a fairy-tale. I’m not going to go into the mess of divorce right now, but I want to briefly give you a few insights. My story started with my desire to have children. The longer the desire was withheld from me, the longer my repressed emotions built, until I got to the place of depression.

Everyone handles depression differently.

I know for some they don’t do anything but lay on their bed, but the thing about depression is: it has a bunch of ways it comes out.

For me it was being obsessive.

I couldn’t stop long enough to try to deal with the emotions I felt about being withheld my deepest desire. I couldn’t face my feelings of “not good enough” or that my husband didn’t love me. I would ‘think’ those thoughts, but I never let myself actually express or ‘feel’ those thoughts. It was too painful.

This is why depression formed for me.

How do you deal with depression?

Depression is, in my own opinion, a lack of expression in some way. Some people get depressed cause they feel life has no meaning or point. But why? What part of themselves are they not allowing to express?

  • Depression is a form of self-loathing (it is a form of self-expression, because we aren’t expressing what we truly want or desire to ourselves or others.)
  • Depression is our emotions shutting down because it hurts too much not to speak our truth.
  • Depression is formed from desiring something, and anger, frustration, sadness, and pain grows too great to handle.
  • Depression can be triggered from a life event: divorce or loss of some kind (if emotions aren’t sorted through or expressed, it can linger after these events are long over.)

So how do you deal with it?

EXPRESS.

I found this amazing book called: the Courage to Be Creative. It literally came at the right time for me. I thought I was the only cray-cray one out there who felt the way I felt. And, that is a form of depression right there–feeling you are the only one who feels that bad.

The Courage to Creative helped me to see that I needed to funnel my emotions INTO something. Again, like I said, EXPRESSION.

We need expression to thrive. We need expression to live.  Discovering who you are, not by what you DO, but your very ESSENCE or BEING and LIVE through that. Discovering your passion prevents depression, because it gives all that emotional energy a place to go.

We all suffer. We all go through pain. And through our pain we can thrive, if we learn to funnel that expression of pain INTO something. If you are having a hard time knowing what form of expression works for you: explore everything. I’m a writer, a reader, a dreamer, and an idealist. I love to express this way, but I also love to express by crafting or being outside.

FIND YOUR EXPRESSION.

If you enjoyed this post, please subscribe to my blog, youtube channel, instagram, or facebook  for more information about anxiety, depression, divorce healing, and spirituality

Disclaimer: I am not a doctor or professional. These are simply my opinions on the subject of depression. If you are suffering from a major illness, please talk to your doctor. 

Sources: http://www.nami.org/Learn-More/Mental-Health-By-the-Numbers

 

 

Leave a Reply

